All Tied Up

DSC00572
In a world that is more wireless every day why do I find myself constantly wrestling cords, cables and wires?

My husband is especially gifted when it comes to bundling cords into neat little packages.

DSC00573

My attempts look like more like I cooked spaghetti than tried to organize anything.

DSC00574

I’ve tried several things over the years from twisty ties to rubber bands. Neither of which worked very well for me. But fear not I have found a few solutions to wrangling cords that if I can do them so can you!

One of my favorites is the empty toilet paper roll. You didn’t misread that. I especially love this trick because the roll encases the entire cord and keeps other things from getting tangled in it. It works for most interior household cords 10 feet and under. You can also use empty paper towel rolls – just cut it in half!

DSC00575

If you have women in your home or you have long hair – hair accessories come in very handy! Hair clips work great!

DSC00576

Hair elastics work great and I like them better than rubber bands because most hair elastics are made not to catch and pull hair and they also glide over the cords to make using them easier.

DSC00578

For smaller cords a medium to large binder clip work well as long as you don’t crimp the wire/cord.

DSC00577

And finally when traveling I rely on the trusty Ziploc bag!

DSC00579

Ah yes the genius of plastic, plastic and more plastic. I love all of these solutions and now I don’t have anymore mystery boxes and piles of spaghetti lurking in drawers and closets!

Leave a Reply

